To be safe, you should steer clear of this place for at least a week

You probably know that I write slowly and carefully. Before I publish any post here, I replace nouns with verbs and cut adjectives and vary the sentence structure.

If you know grammar and mechanics, you know I break the rules, too. I slip in run-on sentences and fragments. Sometimes I include commas before coordinating conjunctions, but other times, to avoid an unintended pause, I leave them out.

Whether what I do actually works, I can’t say. Sometimes I probably get the words right. Most of the time, I probably don’t.

Which brings me to Todd:

Todd is a pal of mine from graduate school days, and he’s leading a 31-day immersion project in his class. The aim of this project is to let go and to document the experience. For Todd, letting go means not shaving for a whole month. For his students, letting go means quitting Facebook and drinking only water and forgoing meat.

It’s impressive what they’re doing, Todd and his class, and it got me to thinking: How would I let myself go? What would I do?

And then it came to me: I would stop writing deliberately. I would give up proofreading and revising. I would close my eyes and just type.

So that’s exactly what I’m going to do.

Starting tomorrow, which is Wednesday, March 9, I’m going to post at least once a day for a week here, and I’m going to spend no more than 20 minutes on each post. That means I won’t be tweaking words or editing paragraphs like I normally do. I’m just going to plunk away about whatever and click publish.

It’ll be a week in my life, uncut, untidy, and probably a wee bit dull. Hopefully, it’ll be a wee bit interesting as well.

6 Responses to “To be safe, you should steer clear of this place for at least a week”


  1. 1 feedDunk March 9, 2011 at 8:19 am

    This will be fun. I look forward to it!

  2. 2 Martianqueen March 9, 2011 at 9:13 am

    Oh fun. I’m looking forward to reading the posts! What a great idea, too.

  3. 3 lesleyfamily March 9, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    Okay, so post one is up, and it was kind of fun writing. I’m going to do my best not to read what I wrote because I’m sure I’ll find all kinds of errors I want to fix and I won’t be able to and that will make me twitch and rock and bat at invisible insects.

  4. 4 feeddunk March 9, 2011 at 9:13 pm

    I see you twitching….
    To know that piece of unpolished writing is on the interwebz, Yea, I KNOW your twitching! LOVE IT! 😀

  5. 5 Barb Black March 10, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Wow. I love this idea! I hope you don’t mind if I steal it soon? (I know, you’re probably thinking that, based on my normal scribble-babble, I already do.)

    • 6 lesleyfamily March 10, 2011 at 2:54 pm

      Oh, gosh, yes. Steal away. That’s what I did, after all. I have a hard time imagining you writing more freely, but I’m intrigued to see what would come of it. Something fun and strange, I expect.


Leave a Reply

